Card shop Friday

While everyone else is partying it up at The National Sports Collectors Convention in Baltimore (or rather, getting ready to), I’m “stuck” in San Diego.  I’ve got the card show blues, which can only be cured by one of two things – a Friday night card show or a trip to my local shop.

This week I’m opting for the shop.

The only thing I ‘needed’ were supplies, so I loaded up on some binder pages (for my ’10 Ginter set) and top loaders (for the massive amount of relics I’ve got sitting around, exposed to the harsh elements of my MCCS: an eight-month-old terror who’s becoming quite mobile.)

I couldn’t bring myself to buy any wax.  I refuse to pay extra for a chance at pulling a Strasburg, especially when I’ve purchased so many cheap hits from expensive products lately.  I could, however, bring myself to buy this:

Awesome.  The ‘oddball’ boxes were far more interesting than anything baseball related on the clearance table.

And obviously I had to pick up some bargain relics, including one from the newest Yankee, Lance Berkman:

A fairly uninspiring trip to the shop, but supply days will do that.

6 Responses

  1. You have totally gotten me hooked on the ebay version of a box break! I have been a fiend lately

  2. I’m still in shock of Berkman wearing the Yankee pinstripes. I don’t collect Yankees period so it’s gonna be hard buying Berkman cards going forward…if I do at all.

  3. Dude…American Gladiators was one of the best shows of our childhood. I don’t care what you paid for it, you got it for a steal.

Leave a comment