Playing hookie

Today will be a good day.  The baby only woke up twice last night, and only one of those was for a feeding.  The second wake-up was a changing, but I can handle those before the baby even knows what hit him.  So before breakfast things are already looking up – it’s nice to go in to the weekend energized.

I’m also playing hookie from work.

Yep – clean cut, salt of the earth Joe is leaving work early for a “doctor’s appointment”, but by “doctor’s appointment” I mean trip to the card shop with grandpa.  Yes, I normally ditch work for an hour or so on Fridays to go to the shop, but this time I’m not comin’ back!

Joseph’s ’09 Topps Updates and Highlights set is coming together nicely, as we’re still 39 cards from completion.  An Updates and Highlights “highlights” break is coming soon; Joseph and I (see, it doesn’t count as money that I’ve spent if we’re doing it together…) have purchased and been gifted about 10 packs in addition to the box, and I’ve already mixed all the inserts together, so a true box break is impossible at this point.  After the next round of packs are purchased I’ll scan and post the good stuff.  Without giving anything away, I’ll simply say that I’ve defied the odds with this box.  And I don’t even mind being 39 cards short, since I see it as a big enough window to justify more packs before turning to the blogosphere/checkoutmycards.com.

We also need more 9-pocket sheets to display them, so I’ll pick up a box of those, and I’ve got a hankering for more Sweet Spot so a box of the ’09 stuff will be purchased, too!  I’ve given myself enough time since the 1/1 pull that I don’t think I’ll be disappointed if all I get is a relic.

The only thing I’m uncertain of is how I’ll go about buying the ’09 Updates and Highlights.  My shop sells seven regular hobby packs for $10, which yields about 56 base cards (assuming one Ticket to Topps Town and one insert per pack), but for the same $10 I can get a jumbo pack with approximately 44 base cards but much better chances of a relic/auto (almost 1:3 odds).  Hmmmm… I’ll go with my gut when I get there.  The reasonable thing to do would be to go for the seven packs, but I’m oh-so-tempted by the chances of a relic!

I’ll be sure to post a picture of my haul.

Leave a comment