Help me scratch my itch…

OK, blogging community, I’ve got another question for ya!

Thanks to the multitude of hobby related blogs, the discovery of a local card shop, and the magic of great deals on boxes over the internet, I’ve become completely addicted (again) to collecting.  And unlike the last time I was into the hobby, about 10 years ago, I now have actual money to spend on stuff that is (debatably) above the absolute bottom of the barrel.  Not too far above the bottom, of course, but I no longer feel relegated to Opening Day or First Edition.  

Of course, now that I’m addicted to baseball cards, I’ve found myself checking out weekly specials on football cards, too.  The only problem with that is that I know nothing about football cards.  I don’t even know if I should purchase any – it seems like a “slippery slope” that has the potential to lead to a grossly disorganized collection.  However, I do follow the NFL (though not as much as MLB or NCAA football), so I kinda feel like giving in to my impulses and picking up a cheaper box of product from 2008.

Translation: I’ve got a little bit of card collecting budget burning a hole in my pocket and a little bit of free time at work  to ponder about such things.  A dangerous combination, to be sure.

I’m leaning on fellow blogger (and reader) Dave – the writer of First and Goal – to steer me in the right direction, but I thought I’d throw the question out there to the rest of the blogosphere:  what should I consider purchasing?  What’s good (and not good)?  I like relics and kinda like autos, so ’08 Bowman and ’08 Topps Rookie Progressions look nice.  Also, retail boxes of 2008 Leaf Rookies and Stars can be had for around $20 a pop and include a relic or auto.  The same can be said for 2008 (football) Heroes, and these last two may be the best way to test the waters just to see if I like it.  I’m open to suggestions for anything else I may be overlooking.

So… where do I begin?  What would YOU buy if you had $30 or so to blow on football cards?  Or should I step back, take a deep breath, and stick to baseball only?  

7796862764686022008leafrookiesstarsFBretai

6 Responses

  1. I voted stick with what you know…if you are anything like me, that single box of football cards will quickly turn into two boxes, which turns into trying two new sets, which turns into trying three, etc. etc.

    Of course, if you have some self control (which I clearly don’t) you might as well try something new…good luck!

  2. Joe, I don’t know all that much about card collecting, but maybe you can devote a post or two a week during football season, maybe “Football Fridays” or something, as we go into the weekend. You could even mix it up with college cards, if there are any. Just a thought.

  3. hmm, I seem to remember going through this phase a month or so ago. WELL, I purchased one box of Topps Basketball and had the most boring box break ever (see my comments) and that cured my desire to try something outside of the baseball realm. Therefore I would suggest you get one box of football and see how it goes. I like the look of football jersey relics better though, thats for sure.

    • Mike’s always gotta be the voice of reason. Boooooooo!!!

      Actually, I’m sure I’ll go through the same thing you did – I’ll open the football cards, not have heard of half the guys (because I don’t follow the sport all that closely), and be done with it. Perhaps I’ll stick with one of the cheaper boxes (Heroes or Rookies and Stars) or just the regular Bowman hobby and go from there.

      What if I got all crazy and got a retail box each of 08 Heroes baseball AND football?!! I can put on a neon-colored shirt, umbro shorts, and pretend it’s 1992 all over again.

  4. Buy football. You know you want to. Besides, I could use another blogger who enjoys some pigskin cards. Just do it.

    Buy it.

    Buy it now.

Leave a comment