Trip to the card shop, 6-26-09

I’m a few days late on posting my haul from last Friday’s trip to the card shop.  Between my two nephews visiting for the weekend, the normal Saturday routine of rec league baseball, and a Sunday too hot to do anything but lounge by the pool, I was short on time.  Not that you’re missing much, so if you’ve been incessantly refreshing your screen hoping for a glimpse of shiny new wax, I apologize in advance. It was a “supply day.”

100ctbox001

Nothing too exciting about an unopened, 100 ct. box of 9-pocket sleeves, which seemed reasonably priced at $14.  I finally have a home for my nearly completed, hand collated set of 1992 Studio.

Of course, instead of breaking a twenty dollar bill, I figured the best option would be to buy some wax.  With the remaining $6 I’d alloted myself for the trip, I bought more packs of 2007 Goudey:

2007 Goudey packs

I enjoy retro themed sets, and these seemed like a better buy than three year old Fleer or Upper Deck.  I’m sure they’re of the retail variety, but I’m close to feeling motivated to complete the entire set.  At least it wouldn’t cost much, right?

Total spent for supplies (booooo!!!) and ’07 Goudey: $20. Since this coming Friday is part of an extended weekend – and the card shop is probably closed – I’ll be saving up for a “big” purchase in two weeks!  I’m leaning towards a box of UD Masterpieces, though I’ve learned by now not to get my heart set on any one product since I keep forgetting to take note of the shop’s inventory.

3 Responses

  1. supply day is looming for me as well as with A&G coming soon. I do hate to break change also, so I will see if I can find some oldies to add on and make it a nice round number

  2. I know it seems like a waste to spend money on supplies, but it would be a bigger waste to have nice cards get ruined because they weren’t stored properly.

    • Agreed. I still wish I could decide on a better way to store my “good” cards other than penny sleeves among all the other commons in 5,000 ct boxes, but putting them all in 9-pocket sleeves would be ridiculous, and I don’t have the room. Guess they’re fine for now.

Leave a comment